Book reviews

Book Reviews – The May Edition!!

Hoorah! I return after what feels like an eternity; thank you for staying loyal (I revoke any credit to Chris Brown) and choosing to bear with me. Right. Onto the good stuff…

School is out for the summer (just 3 more months until I am released from the shackles of study!) so I have had more time to indulge in the next best thing after sliced bread – reading 🙂 I bring to you, a review on three books I have read over the past couple of months and as always let me know if you have read any and/or if you have any recommendations.

miniaturist

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton 

This was 100% worth the wait. Written by 28 year old Jessie Burton (I frickin love millennials!) it is a tale about young 18 year old Petronella who leaves home to join her husband – a well to do successful merchant. It is a story of mystery and misfortune as Petronella’s wedding gift – a beautiful doll house starts to bear startling resemblance to her reality.

Verdict: A little slow to start but it is literally an exceptional book. Extremely well written with the necessary injects of twists and turns; I honestly get why it generated so much hype last year. 

white teeth

White Teeth by Zadie Smith 

I know this a cult classic so I will refrain from going into detail about this book as I am sure many of you are familiar with it but it was disappointing for me; I just couldn’t get into it! Sad to say because one of my favourite books EVER WRITTEN period is On Beauty by Zadie so I was very disappointed to say the least.

Verdict: Zadie is a heavyweight within the literary world but this did not keep me up at night at all. I don’t actually know what else to say to be honest so I think I should just leave it there. *Awkward*

confidence code

The Confidence Code by Katty Kay and Claire Shipman 

Katty and Claire discuss why women lack self-confidence within the workplace and often hold themselves back by being bridled with self-doubt. They look at why women often operate in the workplace as they do at school – study hard and think that they will get rewarded; this approach is just not sustainable in the workplace.

Verdict: I think because I read Lean In first (book review found here), it is quite similar BUT I really liked this book and I could identify with a lot of things that was relayed. I think the main takeaway is: confidence can be created; you don’t have to be born confident in order to become confident within the workplace. 

Hope you found that useful! The next books on my list are:

  • The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
  • Secret History by Donna Tartt
  • Girl Boss by Sophia Amoruso

I will be sure to keep you posted 🙂

Until we speak again…I’m out. xx

Standard

Leave a Reply

