Faith, Womanhood

He Heals the Hurt…

photo

I actually wrote this post months and months ago but I kept battling in my mind as to whether I should post it. But then after reading an amazing post by my spice of life, Covey (the girl can WRITE! Check out her blog which is so real and refreshing here) I knew it was time. And then I read this scripture 2 Corin 1:1-3 and it was a done deal:

3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.

So here goes. I hope that you experience the same comfort which God gave me during my darkest hour…

*************

As I mentally prepare to enter into the world of Husband-and-Wife-Life, I cannot help but look back and thank God that I made it through. I survived the good, the bad and the extremely ugly. I think at one point in our lives we have all been hurt by someone in some shape or form and you feel like you are never ever going to get over it. The pain is real. Tooooo real. And no matter how many times you pray, hear the word of God, read something encouraging, at that particular point in time the voice blares all too loudly telling you that you will never, ever get over it. (The devil is such a liar…)

But I can assure you that you will get over it. You will move on, you will heal, you will laugh again… It may take a while but you will get there. You will survive and you will live to tell the tale just as I have done. I have many scars from the wars that I have fought but they are living proof that I am stronger than I thought I was, more resilient than I could ever imagine and evidence that I always have hope. And if you are presently dealing with a hurt that runs deep, be rest assured that He does Heal the Hurt…you just have to trust God completely.

And there are no fancy steps I can offer or catchy slogan that you can immortalise, I just want to say three things and then I will be out of your way:

  1. Learn to forgive. No matter how badly you’ve been hurt, it is not worth your peace of mind. There is no point carrying around an emotion that is all too draining and quite frankly soul destroying. Forgive. Let go and move on. No seriously, let it go. You owe it to yourself to be happy and to live the best life you possibly could so don’t let anyone have that much power over your life because aint nobody got time for that.

 

  1. Soak yourself in His word. It is food for your soul. Find every scripture that is pertinent to how you are feeling and immerse yourself in it. I have shared some of the scriptures that literally gave me life and I hope that this should give you something to work with as a starter for ten:

 

  • Psalm 147: 3 – ‘He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.’

 

  • Nehemiah 8:10 – ‘The joy of the lord is your strength.’

 

  • Psalm 30:5 – ‘His anger lasts a moment, His favour a lifetime, weeping may endure for the night but joy comes in the morning.’

 

  • Deuteronomy 33: 25 – ‘As your days are, so shall your strength be..’

 

  • Isaiah 43:18-19 – ‘Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.’

 

  • Habakkuk 3:19 – ‘The Lord God is my strength and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet and he will make me to walk upon mine high places…’

 

  • Isaiah 41:10 – ‘Fear not for I am with thee; be not dismayed for I am thy God. I will strengthen thee, I will help thee.’

You have to take it one day at a time and in between each tear, pray like your life depends on it according to the promises He has given you in His word.

  1. Lastly, don’t play superhero and I cannot stress this enough. Talk to close friends/family that you can trust. Rest on them whilst you are weak so that they can help you to fight whilst they are strong. I am talking about people who all it takes is one word and they are ready to pray for you (Yinka Oye, you are a gem) and when they say they will pray for you, they really do mean it or the ones that pray for you without you even asking them to (Ade thank you…)they are the silent warriors…the ones that are in your corner always. They are the people that you can open up your closet to, reveal all your skeletons, bear your soul and never, ever, ever feel judged. They are few and far between so when you find them, value them but more importantly utilise them.

So to every person reading this who may be hurting be rest assured that there is hope. The joy that I have now is deeply gratifying and I do mean deeply. Everything that I have been through, every battle that I have fought pales in comparison to where I am now. There is absolutely nothing like the peace of God (Phil 4:7), I am such an amazing place right now and I can only thank God.

I am more than happy to talk to anyone about this; just email me. I really do mean it. I have been sooooo blessed by the messages I have received from complete strangers about my blog so feel free to get in touch. After all, Gal 6:2 says we should ‘share each other’s burdens and in this way you obey the law of Christ…’

There is always a next time, so until then…xxx

Standard

4 thoughts on “He Heals the Hurt…

  1. Lolade E says:

    Wowza
    Firstly – beautiful, insightful and reassuring post. Although we all know that He heals all our hurts, and that in times of weakness and pain we should turn to Him, sometimes we just need to be reminded. This Post is THAT reminder. Thank you!
    Secondly – congratulations on your upcoming nuptials (although this post was written 3 months ago and so I may be late – in which case I say Congratulations!!!)
    Lastly – fancy coming across post written by someone I actually know 🙂

    • Lolade! So good to hear from you! Thank you for reading the post and yes too right! We need reminding that God is there for us always! I kept battling as to whether I should post this post but messages like this make me thank God that I did. 🙂

      Thank you re the nuptials! Hasn’t happened yet! Countdown is on! It’s happening over the summer 😊 hope you are well and it’s so so good to hear for you.

Leave a Reply

