Womanhood

Quarter of a century…

At my 25th bday shindig..

As we ushered in the new year, I also welcomed in the 25th year of my life. A noteworthy age by all standards and a landmark birthday in every respect- I had officially hit that pivotal age that had been the victim of many a conversations with friends both old and new… and whilst I didn’t physically feel different (aside from cutting my hair, I haven’t changed very much- I can still fit into my trousers from Year 9 and still pretty much play with my nephews for hours on end without feeling worn out…note to self: I should have been a runner in another life…) it was like certain people around me had somehow noted the stark difference for me; I had automatically been enrolled into the ‘School of Womanhood’ where you are expected to put away childish things and begin to make some key, strategic decisions that would have a massive bearing on how the next few years of your life would pan out. And if I didn’t already know that I had hit 25, I was given a constant reminder of the things that I would be expected to do now that I had hit 25…the curriculum had been set and the agenda pre-determined:

  • If you are not engaged or on course to get married then you really ought to think about what you intend to do about it as soon as possible because time is ticking..
  • Don’t worry about your career because these things don’t need to be in place before you get married
  • Don’t appear as a liability because no man likes that
  • Don’t appear needy for reasons as above
  • Make yourself more visible in church or my personal favourite- more ‘findable’ so that your ‘Boaz’ can spot you quite easily
  • Act like a lady, think like a man (the  title of the book that recently became every woman’s bible for reasons I know not)

And whilst I welcomed the timely advice as some of it has some genuine usefulness; by and large, I just didn’t see what the big deal was!! It is actually not that deep!! Perhaps I should be a bit more worried but I think that would defeat the whole purpose as to why I am serving a God that hasn’t failed me to date; who has steered the very direction of my life for the past 25 years and has bought opportunities my way in abundance because I trusted him. I think I am doing ok…I haven’t turned out half bad… (some may beg to differ but your opinion is irrelevant)

And although I am a year older and with that wiser and more knowledgeable, a lot of things will remain the same. I refuse to put myself under pressure that has been falsely created and prescribed according to what everyone else thinks. It is time to place a greater emphasis on the things that have weight in the kingdom of heaven (Matt 6:19-21) and on the things that matter personally to ME and no one else. So if you are approaching the age of 25 and are looking forward at the monstrous list of things that you haven’t got in place (fiancé, house bla bla bla)- DON’T. The curriculum is being re-written and its time to retrospectively consider the things that you do have in place and have achieved. You are the only competitor in the race of your life so there is no need to keep up with anyone else (quote: Pastor Sola; 2012- love it) instead set your own agenda and enjoy NOW; after all, you only turn a quarter of a century but once… 😉

Standard

83 thoughts on “Quarter of a century…

  1. Kofo says:

    So proud of you Ola! I know you are doing great things and God is taking you unto new heights.

    Look forward to the blog becoming my new weekly “must read” addiction.

    Love you lots
    Kofo xx

  2. dupe says:

    Well, first and foremost I have to congratulate you on the BIG 25! Yes it is a landmark age, but life is really what you make it (so I think),

    People will always comment, hint, suggests and give their opinion and YES there is “wisdom in a multitude of counsellors” but choose the counsellors wisely! One thing I have realised in my short number of years is that unless YOU do what YOU’RE advising/suggesting then I won’t listen. There is definitely proof in the pudding/fruit.

    Ola, its so true what Pastor Sola said, and I am soooo motivated by this, we (or maybe just me) are so prone to look at who’s doing what on our left and who’s got what on our right that we MISS what is ahead of us. The plan God has for U is for U. Set your eyes like flint my dear (now I sound old…lol).

    Come husband or children (which I am all FOR!) I however don’t think it should define who YOU are (my opinion). So enjoy the next 25 years as it unfolds, keep your ear soooo close to the heartbeat of the Father and your heart tender! I am sooo proud of you Ola! Sooooo proud of ya! Here’s to the jokes, banter (no more tears!) and to aggressively pursuing Christ!

    Your life Is a Testimony!

    D
    Xx

    • Thanks for the congrats my sister! Happy to have reached it and grateful to God for what he is yet to do..

      You spoke some truth here D and yep trust me only going to take counsel from wise counsellors..

      Thanks hun! I really appreciate it and loving the statement- ‘aggressively pursuing Christ with passion!!’ Its the way forward!!

      Love you loads.
      xxx

  3. This is very well written Ola, soo exciting, can’t wait to read the next one, bt yea for real time is ticking, where is ur ozband men lol :p xx

  4. Mary-anne says:

    This is such a beautiful passage of text…as well as being well written and comical it is most certainly inspiring. I am so glad you have decided to share this. Its funny how the preconceived notions you mentioned in regards to the expectations that others have placed upon you and many other young women when you reach a particular age, have such a direct impact on our daily lives (Pressure x10). You would think as you increased in age and acquired more knowledge, transforming into a woman would be just a little easier. Clearly this is not the case, but as you stated we need to set our own agendas.

    Once again thank you for sharing this, I cant wait to see what you write next.

    Ps: you look lovely in that pic 😉
    xxx

    • Thanks Mary; I really appreciate it trust me…

      And we thank God Mary; I am so glad you benefited from this as well as this was something very heavy on my heart that I felt like I had to get out!

      No worries- and yes I will defoes be sharing something new on Friday by God’s grace..

      hehehe thank you hun ;-)))

  5. michaella says:

    Im 25 in April and boy oh boy do I so know what you mean when you talk about the societal pressures that us young women are under.

    Nice to know I am not aloneeee and everything will come when its time for it to come..

    xx

    • Ola says:

      Nope you are most certainly not alone Michella! Don’t give in to the pressure!

      Thanks for reading the post; it’s very much appreciated. Xxx

    • You are sooo not alone Michaella lol and don’t ever give into the pressure. Look upwards only and drown out the voices horizontally!

      Thanks for taking the time to read it too; very much appreciated.

      And I welcome you into the fold of ’25 year olds’ in advance ;-))

      xx

  6. Charmaine says:

    Ola I’m so proud of you, I don’t read many blogs but I will be reading this one as it will be just like hearing your words of wisdom back in the ‘the Oasis Days’!! Congratulations at the achievements you’ve had so far and I know when I approach my 25th next year I will be referring to this entry everyday so I keep my cool! Love ya loads xXx

  7. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re incredible! Thanks!

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      lol!! No worries Brook! I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for your kind words and do return again!! 🙂

  8. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Gregory thanks so much. It might sound cliche but I really do appreciate when someone takes the time to read and comment so thank you. Hope you will be back again sometime.

  9. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this info for my mission.

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks Andrew. I am glad it was useful. The info is just generally based on life experience- what I have encountered and things I have read in magazines and the like! Glad it was useful. Means alot 🙂

  10. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic, as well as the content!

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thank you Luigi! I am new to the blogging world! I have been blogging for 6 months. I use the wordpress themes which have fantastic layouts.

  11. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thank you Eleanora! Means alot. I have since written subsequent posts so I hope you find time to read some others.

  12. I precisely had to appreciate you once again. I do not know the things I would’ve taken care of without those methods revealed by you on that subject matter. Previously it was a very distressing scenario in my position, but being able to view your skilled strategy you handled the issue made me to leap for happiness. Now i am thankful for the assistance and as well , expect you are aware of a great job you happen to be undertaking educating other individuals through the use of your site. Most likely you have never encountered any of us.

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks alot. Deeply appreciated. I am glad its no longer a distressing scenario. And more than anything I hope that my posts can continue to help and motivate people to stay positive and press on. Hope to see you on this site again 🙂

  13. My wife and i ended up being now fulfilled John could carry out his inquiry through the entire precious recommendations he acquired from your site. It’s not at all simplistic just to possibly be giving for free thoughts that some others might have been making money from. And we acknowledge we now have the website owner to appreciate for that. The specific explanations you made, the simple site menu, the friendships your site make it easier to engender – it is mostly astounding, and it’s making our son and us understand that issue is exciting, and that’s rather serious. Thank you for everything!

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      No problem at all and thanks so much for taking the time to read it; I am glad it was useful. I am just really glad that it was useful to your son as well as you and your wife. Thanks very much for stopping by and hope to see you on this site again sometime.

  14. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  15. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks Bert!!! Means alot. I am new on the whole blogging thing but I am really enjoying it. Thanks for taking the time time to read it; I dont take it for granted!

  16. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks Rene!! I have since written subsequent posts so hope you will find time to read it? Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  17. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  18. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Hello Sissi, I used one of the ‘theme’s that wordpress provide you with when you sign up. There are hundreds and hundreds of ‘themes’ and you can pick one depending on what type of preference you have. Please let me know if you need anymore help; I will try and find the name of this theme that I used for my blog.

  19. I and my friends ended up studying the excellent tips found on your web page while the sudden I got a horrible feeling I never thanked the website owner for those techniques. Those young men are already consequently passionate to read through all of them and now have absolutely been enjoying those things. Appreciate your genuinely really helpful and also for opting for this sort of important ideas most people are really wanting to know about. My very own honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to sooner.

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      No problem at all. Thanks for reading it and glad it could be of help. 🙂 Please do visit again.

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read it. Means a lot to me. Hope you find time to read some of my other posts.

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks very much! That means a great deal to me and glad I can be of help. Please feel free to stop by again! 🙂

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks so much for reading it. Post that was very dear to my heart! Hope you stop by again soon..

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks Angel. Apologies for not responding sooner as I am still new to the blogging world. Cheers.

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks Lou for stopping by to read it and my apologies for not responding sooner. Hope to see you on this blog site again sometime. 🙂

  20. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    • ladywriteschronicles says:

      Thanks very much Marshall for stopping by and apologies for the delay in responding! I am new to the blogging world so I am still trying to navigate my way round. You’re words are very kind and honestly, they mean alot. Thanks!

  21. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyhow, fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

